Welcome to Las Vegas, a.k.a. the City of Lights and Sin, where setting up a business is just as easy as rolling the dice at your local casino—if you know what you’re doing, that is! The first step in getting a business license in Las Vegas is understanding the difference between an unincorporated township like Las Vegas and an incorporated city like Henderson (the second-largest city in Nevada). An unincorporated township has an elected board of trustees who work with Clark County’s government to set up regulations for its residents and businesses. If you live in Henderson or other incorporated cities within Clark County, you’ll need to apply for the appropriate business licenses through their governments instead of through the county if they have specific rules or application processes.
If your town or city doesn’t require a separate license from the county’s, then head on over to Clark County’s website and download their “Business License Application” form! This form contains fields for what type of business it is–whether it be retail store with sales tax registration number or something else–and when it will begin operating during any given year (which month).
Go to the City of Las Vegas Business License Department.
The second step is to go to the City of Las Vegas Business License Department, which is located at 333 N. Rancho Drive in Las Vegas. The office is open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. Visitors may also call the department at 702-229-6281 or visit its website for more information.
Apply for a business license by filling out the application form.
- Fill out the application form. The form is available from the Business Licenses Division or online.
- Provide the name of the company and its address
- Provide information about the principal officer of the company if it is a corporation.
- Provide information about each owner, partner or stockholder of 10 percent or more if it is a partnership, limited liability company (LLC) or a corporation.
- Write your signature on the application
- Write down today’s date
- Include other information as required by your local city offices
Make your payment.
You may pay in person or over the phone. The cashier will accept cash, money orders and credit cards. If you pay by check, please make it payable to City of Las Vegas Business License.
If your business license application is denied, they will contact you within 30 days to explain why it was not approved and what you need to do to appeal the decision.
Receive your business license.
You will receive your business license in the mail. You should receive your license within 5 business days after you submit your application, and it is valid for 2 years. Keep in mind that this license is not transferable and you must renew it before it expires.
To get a business license in Las Vegas, follow these steps
- Go to the City of Las Vegas Business License Department. The offices are located at 333 North Rancho Drive, Las Vegas, Nevada 89106.
- Apply for a business license by filling out the application form . Once you submit your application and fee, it will be processed. You have to pay $500 for the initial business license and other fees associated with it:
- Category A-Housing: $50
- Category B-Retail: $300
- Category C-Services: $150
- Category D-Contractors: $200 plus an additional charge based on employee number (for example, if you have one employee, you need to pay an extra $100)
- Receive your business license via mail after approval from the licensing authority
(Prices may vary)